Closure =(

I’m sad to declare that the module is coming to an end.

Truthfully, I’ve to always mentally prepare myself  when I go for class because I’ll be thinking, “What scary and nerve-wrecking) thing will Ms Lim be asking us to do today?”…”Am I going to have to go in front of the class to speak again today?”… I think this thoughts started since we had our first lesson. I vividly remember the feelings I had during the activity- something about if there was some pandemic on an island and we had to quickly leave it, and there was something like only one means to take us out, then who’s the most deserving to go? Okay…as you can see, my memory’s not entirely good! But anyway, that was to me, a really uncomfortable lesson =S During my whole life in NUS, I rarely had to go up in front of the class to present. The most I had to present was to a few examiners but then again, there was usually less than 5. Speaking in front of the class, to me, was something very secondary school and JC. Not that we should be good enough by now, or that it’s a childish thing, but simply because in NUS, in Engine  at least, lessons are usually conducted lecture-tutorial style. And so, I have not done such type of “public speaking” in what seemed like eons. Back to the first day of Prof Comm class… I wasn’t prepared to do so much “public speaking” and so when we were asked to make our first “speech”, I literally went “gosh” in my head. And as expected, I didn’t perform that well. I think another deterring factor was that I essentially did not know anyone in the class, so it was even more nerve-wrecking.

Wells, looking back at that experience, I think our class has definitely come a long way! I see many of us improving tremendously given how much opportunities we had to practise our “public speaking”. For me, I definitely had a very enriching experience. I cannot remember if I mentioned previously, but this module is definitely one of the most useful modules I’ve taken throughout my NUS education, even better than some of my Engine modules! =p

I personally can’t pick the component that I benefited most from because I think everything we’ve learnt, from the beginning of the module to the end, was beneficial in many ways and definitely applicable to life in general.

And of course, we have Ms Lim to thank for making this module such an enjoyable one! She was surely inspiring and never failed to entertain us and make each lesson interesting. So thank you, Ms Lim!

5 Comments »

  1. Bryan Said:

    Hi Jia Lin,

    Yes, I feel your sentiments….I am sad that the module is coming to an end to…. =( I feel that you have come a long way with regards to your presentation skills. You have become quite a confident speaker too! =) With regards to your comments on your engineering modules, I think that it could be the nature in which these lessons are conducted which thus results in less communication in class. I certainly experience it in life science modules as well, where tutorials are usually “one way traffic”, where the lecturer goes on and on and we just merely copy the answers.

    Definitely this module has enabled us to improve tremendously in terms of our communication skills. I do feel sad that this is coming to an end. Hope that all of us can keep in touch and lets look forward to a gathering during the June break! Keep in touch =)

    Cheers,

    Bryan

  2. Andrew Sim Said:

    Hi Jia Lin,

    I’m sure each of us has the fear of speaking in front of a group of audience. Truthfully speaking, I dare to sing in front of a group of people but I tend to stumble and stutter trying to speak! It is certainly not easy to speak coherently and smoothly in front of so many people. Singing, you may think is more difficult, but actually it is simpler, the experience is quite different actually =)! Well, I’m sure after the practices we had, we have certainly built up more confidence.

    Also, the skills which we have learned definitely will serve us well. Especially during our work next time, it is important to build a good relationship with our colleagues and boss =)!

    Congrats for getting a job before graduation!

    Cheers
    Andrew

  3. Ms. Lim Said:

    Hi Jia Lin,

    “What scary and nerve-wrecking) thing will Ms Lim be asking us to do today?” – Oh dear…I hope I’m not the tutor from hell, yet again!!? Ha ha ha.

    I can empathise how “nerve-wrecking” such an experience can be when you mentioned speaking to a room full of strangers. It used to be the same for me too.

    I will always remember the first time I stood on stage to address a whole school (of about two thousand students) as a discipline teacher. That day, my heart was thumping so wildly it was in my mouth. My mind was blank; and I couldn’t be absolutely certain if my hands were steady, or whether I managed to support the weight of my body on my two wobbly legs when I walked down the stage…LOL.

    Alright, alright, it was not THAT bad, but quite close.

    Well, the good news is, we all only need to go through such frightful experiences once to know that we need to be better prepared for the future.

    What do you think?

    For me, that disastrous first day when I addressed the students was also the day I learnt a valuable lesson I would never forget – that I needed to polish up my communication skills in order to engage my students more effectively, and that I needed to do that fast! Once I lose my credibility, I lose my ‘legitimate power’ as a discipline teacher, and I knew then, that when that happened, I would be on a spiral down.

    I made sure I was prepared the second time I addressed the whole school. Nothing fantastic, but I started on a positive spiral upwards. I learnt that with preparation, I have what it takes to make all my tomorrows even brighter days than the first day. I am glad you share the same sentiments too, when you said that your “class has definitely come a long way” from that experience.

    All the best, Jia Lin. I can see that you are a different Jia Lin from the one who walked into my class in day 1, and I am gratified to see that.

    Ms. Lim

    • tayjialin2 Said:

      Hi Ms Lim,

      It’s “good” to know that someone whom I respect so much for being able to speak so confidently now once when through the same struggles. Yups, to some extent, I agree that we most often have to go through frightful experiences just once because hopefully, by the next time, we’ll be more prepared to face the same struggles. However, I guess that can’t really be said of someone who has an almost incurable stage fright? I know my sister has that haha. Another situation when someone might have to relive another of those terrifying experiences is when he/she has built up confidence once before but doesn’t get to practise it for years after that. Then when he/she does it again, the same fears might resurface (though hopefully to a smaller extent this time round)?

      Anyway, thank you, Ms Lim! And may you continue enjoying your teaching experience in this module (:

      • Ms. Lim Said:

        Hi Jia Lin,

        Thanks for your quick reply! You mentioned that your sister has an almost ‘incurable’ stage fright? I’m sure you can confidently tell her now that ‘practice’ really makes ‘perfect’ =)

        You have been a very motivated student, and you *want* to learn – and that, makes all the difference. It is important to want to take *Step Number 1*, because it is only then that one can take *Step Number 2*. Your sister has got to take the first step forward to work on that stage fright. If she starts changing the input (negative thoughts), she’s going to see an entirely different output. It is just like learning how to ride a bicycle – anyone can give her a ‘Riding A Bicycle 101 lecture’ showing her all the techniques to riding a bicycle, the rules, the types of bicycles to go for and so on and so forth. But will she know how to ride a bicycle after that? I’m sure the answer is clear to all of us – *She* has got to want to get on the bicycle in the first place, in order for her to learn.

        Do encourage her in that sense. ‘Hold on to the back of the bicycle’ for her for a while and give her the confidence she needs. [http://74.125.153.132/search?q=cache:-bSo8FAq1tcJ:faculty.ncc.edu/LinkClick.aspx%3Ffileticket%3D3vu4RLa3kNU%253D%26tabid%3D1056%26mid%3D1502+analogy+ride+a+bicycle&cd=8&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=sg]

        You made a good point in your second example – that if skills are not put to use regularly, they may become rusty. Nevertheless, that being said, take heart that once you master a skill set, it will serve you well for life. Back to my bicycle analogy – once you know how to ride a bicycle, you can never ‘unlearn’ that skill.

        Thanks for participating so actively in class, Jia Lin. Good job! You’re someone with a positive attitude in work and in life, and that makes all the difference!

        Ms Lim


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a comment